World Organisation for Animal Health

Font size:

Language :


Advanced search

Home > Support to OIE members > World Fund Governance > The Advisory Committee


Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee of the World Fund provides a unique dialogue opportunity between the main donors and international organisations concerned by animal health and welfare, veterinary public health and international trade worldwide in animals and animal products.

The core members of the Advisory Committee are high level representatives of the following international organisations: the World Trade Organization (WTO), the World Health Organization (WHO), the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE). The main donors to the World Fund are also members[1] of the Advisory Committee: the World Bank, the European Union, Australia, Canada, France, Italy, Japan, Switzerland, UK, USA, Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI) and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. A representative from the private sector SSAFE[2] Initiative also attends the meetings. Other attendees and observers may also be invited; e.g. donors below the financial threshold for membership (currently New Zealand, Brazil, China and Spain).  

At present, the Advisory Committee is currently chaired by the representative of the World Bank, Dr François Le Gall.

The Advisory Committee has convened nine ordinary annual meetings to date (October 2006, December 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014). The next Advisory Committee meeting will take place on 16 December 2015 at the OIE Headquarters in Paris.




[1] The threshold for Membership is currently at 1M USD (cumulative)

[2] Safe Supply of Affordable Food Everywhere (SSAFE) represents a partnership between global food system companies, international NGOs, intergovernmental organisations and academia. Members include: Cargill, Danone, Keystone Foods, McDonald’s, Michigan State University, Nestle Purina PetCare, Pfizer Animal Health, The Coca-Cola Company and Underwriters Laboratories. Current Collaborators include: CARE USA, Center for Science in the Public Interest, Colorado State University, Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations (FAO), International Federation for Animal Health, National Veterinary School of Alfort, Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS), EcoHealth Alliance, World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE).