RESOLUTION No. 20

Recognition of the Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy Risk Status of Member Countries

CONSIDERING THAT

- 1. During the 67th General Session the OIE World Assembly of Delegates (Assembly) established a procedure for annually updating a list of Member Countries, categorised by their bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk according to the provisions of the *Terrestrial Animal Health Code* (*Terrestrial Code*),
- 2. During the 80th General Session, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 25, which specified and updated the procedure for Member Countries to follow to achieve official recognition and maintenance of status of certain diseases,
- 3. During the 80th General Session, the Assembly adopted Resolution No. 26, which specified and updated the financial implications for Member Countries applying for evaluation of official recognition or re-instatement of disease status to meet part of the costs defrayed by the OIE in the evaluation process,
- 4. Information published by the OIE is derived from declarations made by the OIE Delegate of Member Countries. The OIE is not responsible for publication and maintenance of Member Countries disease status based on inaccurate information or non-reporting of changes in epidemiological status or other significant events subsequent to the time of declaration of the BSE risk status.

THE ASSEMBLY

RESOLVES THAT

1. The Director General publish the following list of Member Countries recognised as having a negligible BSE risk in accordance with Chapter 11.5. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

Argentina Iceland Australia India Austria Israel Belgium Italy Brazil Japan Chile Netherlands Colombia New Zealand Denmark Norway Finland Panama

Paraguay Peru Singapore Slovenia Sweden

United States of America

Uruguay

2. The Director General publish the following list of Member Countries recognised as having a controlled BSE risk in accordance with Chapter 11.5. of the *Terrestrial Code*:

Bulgaria Germany Malta Canada Mexico Greece Chinese Taipei Hungary Nicaragua Costa Rica Ireland Poland Croatia Korea (Rep. of) Portugal Cyprus Latvia Slovakia Czech Republic Lichtenstein Spain Switzerland Estonia Lithuania France Luxembourg United Kingdom

AND

3. The Delegates of these Member Countries shall immediately notify the Headquarters if BSE occurs in their countries or their territories.

(Adopted by the World Assembly of Delegates of the OIE on 28 May 2013)