World Organisation for Animal Health

Font size:

Language :


Advanced search

Home > For the media > Press releases

Newly elected governance bodies of the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE)

The 83rd General Session has proved a memorable occasion, marked by elections to renew all of the Organisation’s governance bodies.
Mandated by the World Assembly of Delegates of the OIE, these key players will support the OIE’s various administrative, scientific and normative projects. They have been elected by the national Delegates to represent them and ensure the excellence and relevance of the actions implemented by the OIE in the coming years.

Paris, 10 June 2015 – In addition to adopting 41 Resolutions at this year’s annual General Session of the World Assembly, the representatives of the 180 OIE Member Countries held elections for all of the OIE’s governance positions, namely the Director General, the Members of the Council and the members of the Specialist and Regional Commissions, the first time this has happened for 15 years.

Dr Monique Eloit will become the first woman to hold the post of Director General of the OIE when she takes office on 1 January 2016 for a five-year term

After three consecutive five-year terms of office and fifteen years at the Directorate General of the OIE, Dr Bernard Vallat will be passing the baton to Dr Monique Eloit, currently Deputy Director General, on 1 January 2016. She will have the task of implementing the Sixth Strategic Plan of the OIE, which was adopted last week by the World Assembly of Delegates of the OIE and will shortly be available on the OIE website.




For more information

New members of the OIE’s governance bodies (2015-2018)

The new members were elected by the World Assembly, each for a three-year term of office from 1 June 2015.

The President of the World Assembly of Delegates and the Council of the OIE

The Council is the body that represents the World Assembly in the interval between General Sessions. It comprises a President, a Vice-President, the Immediate Past President and six Delegates representing all regions of the world. It meets at least twice a year to examine, in consultation with the Director General, technical and administrative matters, in particular the programme of activities and the draft budget prior to their submission to the Assembly.
Elected members of the Council must be the national Delegates of their country to the OIE.

Dr Botlhe Michael Modisane (South Africa) has thus been elected as President of the World Assembly, and Dr Mark Schipp (Australia) as Vice-President. The Immediate Past President is Dr Karin Schwabenbauer (Germany). Elected in 2012, she is the first woman to have held the post of President of the World Assembly.

The other members of the Council are:

Specialist Commissions

Their role is to collect the latest scientific information in order to study the epidemiology of animal diseases and relevant control methods and the sanitary safety of international trade in animals and animal products, to elaborate or revise OIE standards and to address technical or scientific issues raised by Member Countries.
They each meet twice a year. The experts who are members of the Commissions are elected on the basis of their scientific excellence and a balanced geographical representation.

Terrestrial Animal Health Standards Commission

Code Commission


Code Commission 


Dr Etienne Bonbon



Dr Stuart McDiarmid


Dr Gastón Funez



Dr Masatsuga Okita


Dr Emmanuel Couacy Hymann

Côte d'Ivoire

Dr Salah Hammani


The Code Commission is responsible for ensuring that the provisions of the Terrestrial Animal Health Code (Terrestrial Code) reflect current scientific information on the protection of international trade and surveillance and control methods for animal diseases and zoonoses. It prepares draft texts for new or revised standards for the Terrestrial Code. It works in close collaboration with the three other Specialist Commissions.

Scientific Commission for Animal Diseases

Scientific Commission


Scientific Commission


Dr Gideon Brückner

South Africa


Dr Kris De Clerq


Dr Jeff Hammond



Dr Silvia Bellini


Dr Baptiste Dungu

Rep. of the Congo

Dr Juan Antonio Montano


The Scientific Commission assists in identifying the most appropriate strategies and measures for disease prevention and control. It also examines submissions from Member Countries seeking official recognition of their status in terms of certain diseases.


Biological Standards Commission

Laboratories Commission


Commission des laboratoires


Dr Beverly Schmitt

United States of America


Dr Franck Berthe


Dr Hualan Chen



Dr Anthony Fooks


Dr Peter Daniels


Dr Mehdi El Harrak


The Laboratories Commission is responsible for establishing or approving methods for diagnosing diseases of mammals, birds and bees and for recommending the most effective biological products such as vaccines. It oversees the production of the Manual of Diagnostic Tests and Vaccines for Terrestrial Animals (Terrestrial Manual), which is recognised as an international standard text by the SPS Agreement of the World Trade Organization (WTO). It selects OIE Reference Centres for diseases of terrestrial animals and promotes the preparation and distribution of standard reagents for diagnostic assays.

Aquatic Animal Health Standards Commission

Aquatic Animals Commission


Aquatic Animals Commission


Dr Ingo Ernst



Dr Alicia Gallardo Lagno


Dr Edmund Peeler



Dr Joanne Constantine


Dr Maxwell Barson


Dr M. Shariff bin Mohammed Din Malaysia

The Aquatic Animals Commission is responsible for ensuring that the standards published in the Aquatic Animal health Code (Aquatic Code) and the Manual of Diagnostic Tests for Aquatic Animals (Aquatic Manual) are based on the latest scientific information for the prevention and control of diseases of fish, crustaceans, molluscs and amphibians and ensure the sanitary safety of international trade in aquatic animals and their products.


Regional Commissions

The OIE has five Regional Commissions, considered to be fully fledged regional bodies, to take better account of the economic and cultural specificities of Member Countries in the different regions. Each Regional Commission meets every two years to propose relevant recommendations suitably adapted to the specific economic, cultural and epidemiological context of the region. These recommendations are then submitted to the World Assembly of Delegates of the OIE for endorsement, thereby making them officially operational.

In the interval between regional meetings, each Commission is represented by a bureau with four members elected from among the national Delegates of the Member Countries of the Regional Commission in question.

Regional programmes may be developed to reinforce surveillance and control of major animal diseases, especially for regions where the OIE has established Regional and Sub-Regional Representations. The Regional Commissions work closely with these Representations.



Dr Komla Batassé Batawui Togo


Dr Theogen Rutagwenda Rwanda

Dr Karim Boughalem Algeria

Secretary General

Dr Gaston Djonwe









The Americas


Dr Guilherme Marques Brazil


Dr Miguel Azañón


Dr Mark Trotman


Secretary General

Dr Martine Dubuc









Asia, the Far-East and Oceania


Dr Zhang Zhongqiu

China (People's Rep. of)


Dr Sen Sovann


Dr Keshav Prasad Premy Nepal

Secretary General

Dr Matthew Stone











Dr Ago Pärtel



Dre Siala Rustamova


Dr Lucio Carbajo Goñi  Spain

Secretary General

Dr Budimir Plavšić









Middle East


Dr Kassem N. Al-Qahtani



Dr Abdulghani Y. Al-Fadhl

Saudi Arabia

Dr Elias Ibrahim


Secretary General

Dr Salah F. Abbas


For more information