World Organisation for Animal Health

Font size:

Language :


Advanced search

Home > Animal health in the World

Peste des Petits Ruminants Portal

PPR-free official status

Since autumn 2013, OIE Member Countries have the possibility to apply for the official recognition by the OIE of their freedom from peste des petits ruminants (PPR) for their whole country or for a zone, and also for the endorsement of their national official control programme with regard to PPR.

The first list of PPR-free Member Countries was adopted by the World Assembly of Delegates of OIE Member Countries during the 82nd General Session in May 2014 and included 48 countries.

In July 2018, 56 countries and one zone within a country were recognised as being free from PPR.

The maintenance of disease free status is as important as its achievement. Countries are required to present annually adequate reconfirmation of the absence of PPR infection and of the appropriate maintenance of surveillance and measures to prevent and control PPR, including import requirements.

The procedure for official recognition of disease status covers five other diseases: African horse sickness, classical swine fever, contagious bovine pleuropneumonia (CBPP), foot and mouth disease (FMD) and bovine spongiform encephalopathy, as well as the endorsement of official control programmes for FMD, CBPP and PPR.


Be a pioneer in the eradication of PPR
[Display the infographic in full page]


Home     What is PPR?     Distribution and impact     Global strategy for control and eradication
Implementing the strategy     PPR-free status     Media resources