African horse sickness

In accordance with the OIE procedure for official recognition of disease status, this page provides access to the List of OIE Members officially recognised free from African horse sickness (AHS) by the OIE through the adoption of a resolution by the World Assembly of Delegates (Assembly) of the OIE at the General Session in May every year.

A Member wishing to be officially recognised as disease-free by the OIE should submit the questionnaire laid out in Chapter 1.6. of the OIE Terrestrial Animal Health Code (Terrestrial Code) and comply with all requirements specified in the Terrestrial Code for AHS. The OIE Scientific Commission for Animal Diseases (Scientific Commission) is responsible for undertaking, on behalf of the World Assembly, the assessment of OIE Members’ applications for their compliance with OIE standards. The assessment carried out by the Scientific Commission is based on the recommendations formulated by a relevant ad hoc Group composed of world specialists in disease control.

Subsequent to a disease outbreak or when the Scientific Commission determines that the conditions are not met anymore to demonstrate compliance with the relevant requirements of the Terrestrial Code, a disease status may be suspended. The Scientific Commission may decide to reinstate the suspended status when a Member has submitted an application which fulfils all the requirements requested for the recovery of official disease status laid out in the relevant Chapters of the Terrestrial Code. The suspensions and recoveries of disease status are announced by the Director General of the OIE in consultation with the Scientific Commission and the list of these is kept up to date until adoption of a new resolution by the Assembly the following May.

Members with a disease free status officially recognised by the OIE must submit an annual reconfirmation form by the end of November every year.

Map of AHS official status

List of AHS free Members

According to Resolution No. 18 (88th General Session, May 2021)

Members recognised as free from AHS according to the provisions of Chapter 12.1. of the Terrestrial Code 

AlgeriaCyprusKuwaitPortugal (4)
AndorraCzech Rep.LatviaQatar
AzerbaijanFinland (2)MaltaSlovenia
BelgiumFrance (3)MexicoSpain (5)
Bosnia and HerzegovinaGreeceNew CaledoniaSwitzerland
BrazilHungaryNew ZealandThe Netherlands
BulgariaIcelandNorth Macedonia (Rep. of)Tunisia
ChileIrelandOmanUnited Arab Emirates
China (Peop. Rep. of) (1)ItalyParaguayUnited Kingdom (6)
Chinese TaipeiJapanPeruUnited States of America (7)
CroatiaKorea (Rep. of)Poland
(1) Including Hong Kong and Macau.
(2) Including Åland Islands.
(3) Including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion, Saint Barthélémy, Saint Martin, Saint Pierre and Miquelon.
(4) Including Azores and Madeira.
(5) Including Balearic Islands and Canary Islands.
(6) Including Cayman Islands, Guernsey (incl. Alderney and Sark), Isle of Man, Jersey, Saint Helena and Falkland Islands (Malvinas). (A dispute exists between the Government of Argentina and the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas) (see resolution 2065 (XX) of the General Assembly of the United Nations)..
(7) Including American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands.

Suspension/reinstatement of status

Suspension of “AHS free country” status

Following an immediate notification received from the OIE Delegate of Malaysia on an outbreak of AHS in the State of Terengganu, the “AHS free country” status of Malaysia, as recognised by the OIE World Assembly of Delegates in terms of Resolution No. 12 in May 2020, is suspended with effect from 6 August 2020.


Following an immediate notification received from the OIE Delegate of Thailand on an outbreak of AHS in Pak Chong, Nakhon Ratchasima district, the “AHS free country” status of Thailand, as recognised by the OIE World Assembly of Delegates in terms of Resolution No. 19 in May 2014, is suspended with effect from 27 March 2020.