Aquatic Animals Commission

Aquatic Animal Health Standards Commission


The Aquatic Animal Health Standards Commission (the Aquatic Animals Commission), created in 1960, is responsible for overseeing developments of the Aquatic Animal Health Code (the Aquatic Code) and Manual of Diagnostic Tests for Aquatic Animals (the Aquatic Manual) and ensuring that they reflect current scientific information.

The Aquatic Animals Commission comprises six members, who are elected by the World Assembly of Delegates for a three-year term. The members are internationally recognised specialists with a broad understanding of the major diseases of aquatic animals addressed by the Aquatic Code and with expertise in surveillance, diagnosis, prevention and control of aquatic animal diseases or methods, welfare of farmed fish, and experience in international trade in aquatic animals and aquatic animal products.

The Aquatic Animals Commission collaborates closely with the Code Commission and Biological Standards Commission for scientific expertise as well as to ensure harmonised approaches, as appropriate.

The Internal rules, Terms of reference of the Aquatic Animals Commission and Qualifications of its members can be found in the Basic Texts (pp. 6-7):

Aquatic Animals portal

To learn more about the importance of aquatic animals and the OIE Aquatic Animal Health Strategy 2021-2025:

Dr Ingo Ernst
Director, Aquatic Pest and Health Policy
Animal Division Australian Government
Department of Agriculture and water resources
GPO Box 858 Canberra ACT 2601
[email protected]
Dr Alicia Gallardo Lagno
Undersecretary of Fisheries and Aquaculture
Subsecretaría de Pesca y Acuicultura, SUBPESCA
Bellavista 168, piso 16
[email protected]  
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is f9eff265-2834-445d-8c82-85ff96bf4b9d-850x1024.jpgDr Fiona Geoghegan
Legislative Officer
European Commission
DG Sante
101 rue Froissart
Brussels, 1000
[email protected]
Dr Kevin William Christison
Department of Forestry, Fisheries and the Environment
Directorate: Aquaculture Research and Development
Private Bag X 2
Vlaeberg, 8018
[email protected]
Dr Hong Liu
Deputy Director
Animal and Plant Inspection and Quarantine Technical Center
Shenzhen Customs District
General Administration of Customs (GACC),
1011 building of Fuqiang Road
Futianqu, Shenzhen, Guangdong province, 518045
CHINA (People’s Rep of)
[email protected]
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is picture-er-1-150x150.jpgProf Espen Rimstad
Professor in virology
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Department of Paraclinical Sciences (PARAFAG)
Campus Ås
Universitetstunet 3, 1430 Ås
[email protected]